Search Google Appliance

Menu Search

Aboriginal Employees Advisory Committee

The Aboriginal Employees Advisory Committee (AEAC) provides strategic advice to the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) on strategies and approaches to attracting, recruiting, advancing and retaining Aboriginal employees within the GNWT.

Established in 2009, the purpose of AEAC is to:

  1. Increase the representation of indigenous Aboriginal people at all levels in the Public Service; and
  2. Create a working environment that supports and promotes Aboriginal employees at the GNWT.

AEAC Terms of Reference

AEAC membership includes two co-chairs and six members representing the regions.


  • Williard Hagen, Deputy Minister of Lands
  • Martin Goldney, Deputy Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Intergovernmental Relations


  • Beaufort Delta – Adam Binder, Senior Finance Officer, Department of Finance
  • Sahtu – Leeroy Andre, Renewable Resource Officer III, Environment and Natural Resources
  • North Slave/Tlicho – Joseph Nayally, Regional Manager, Career Development, Education, Culture and Employment
  • South Slave – Keith Bonnetrouge, Highway Transport Officer Supervisor, Department of Transportation
  • Deh Cho – Natasha Harris, Regional Superintendent, Education, Culture and Employment
  • Yellowknife – Roger Fraser, Manager of Operations, Forests, Environment and Natural Resources.

The AEAC advises and recommends initiatives to enhance Aboriginal employment within the public service. The roles and responsibilities of AEAC are:

  • Provide advice and recommendations to the Deputy Ministers’ Human Resources Committee through the Co-Chairs;
  • Recommend initiatives to be incorporated into 20/20: A Brilliant North Public Service Strategic Plan;
  • Identify and recommend measures necessary to address challenges to the GNWT Affirmative Action Policy;
  • Identify and recommend approaches to recruitment, retention, and promotion of indigenous Aboriginal people in the GNWT;
  • Provide advice and recommendations on the role of the GNWT in working with other governments in areas of Aboriginal human resource development;
  • Consider any other matter the Deputy Ministers’ Human Resources Committee refers to the committee; and
  • Act as role models, ambassadors and advocates for Aboriginal employees in the regions.

AEAC Accomplishments

For more information on the AEAC, please contact:

Mr. Willard Hagen,
Co-Chair, AEAC
867-767-9035 ext. 24000

Mr. Martin Goldney
Co-Chair, AEAC